Persian Cuisine from Javane's Kitchen

Love life, eat well and cook Persian

Spaghetti Persian style.


There is nothing so delicious as spaghetti Persian style! Complete with taadig ( a crusty bottom) if you want it! This is one of the few times I’m happy to let my other half loose in the kitchen simply because he makes it so much better than I can!  We use Gluten free pasta but you can use wheat pasta. Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 400 gr’s ground beef
  • 1 large onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • Tomato puree
  • 1 tin of tomato’s
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon,
  • 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon of fresh chopped ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder
  • A pinch of dried mint
  • Water
  • Olive oil.
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. Fry the chopped onion in some olive oil until it begins to turn transparent
  2. Add the turmeric, ginger and cinnamon
  3. Add the mince  and the curry powder and cook until brown.
  4. In a separate pan heat some olive oil,  add the garlic, a little turmeric and a good pinch of dried mint.
  5. Add the tomato puree and fry
  6. Add the tin of tomato’s, salt, pepper to taste  and 1/2 glass of water  and cook for 15 minutes over a low heat until the sauce thickens.
  7. Combine the meat and sauce in one pan
  8. Allow to simmer for 30  mins on a low heat.
  9. Meanwhile cook the pasta.
  10. Combine the meat sauce and  pasta and return to the heat for about 15 mins.
  11. If you want to make a taadig simply allow it to cook in the pan for about 15-20  mins on a low heat.  When ready to eat, cover the pan with your serving dish and quickly turn upside down. If it doesn’t all come out at one, rest the pan in some cold water for a few minutes and try again.

Serve with a salad or sabzi and we like ours with mast or natural yoghurt .

Nooshi Joonet. Enjoy ( I did!)

March 16, 2010 - Posted by | 'Persianised', Other recipes, Recipes | , , , , , ,

19 Comments »

  1. I am used to making the same recipe but without ginger, cinnamon and curry. I am not sure of this recipe but may try it

    Comment by Hossein | July 29, 2010 | Reply

    • Hossein thanks for your comment. No recipe is written in stone… this is only our version of it! We like our spaghetti to have a little kick to it :)

      Comment by javanejoon | July 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. I just made this but had no ginger or mint, but my god it was still sooooo yummy and full of flavour! :) Thanks for the recipe!

    Comment by Shreen | August 11, 2010 | Reply

    • hey Shreen…for a real kick, try it with the ginger sometime and you’ll love it! :) :)

      Comment by javanejoon | August 12, 2010 | Reply

  3. when do you put the meat?? in the first pan or second?
    thanks:)

    Comment by LEZLY | September 1, 2010 | Reply

    • Lezly method step 7. combine the sauce and meat in one pan. I hope that helps :)

      Comment by javanejoon | September 5, 2010 | Reply

  4. ur the best.persian are all

    Comment by sogol | October 3, 2011 | Reply

  5. For making the taadig do you combine the meat and then make it or do it before combining?

    Comment by demjasson | October 19, 2011 | Reply

    • You can do either …. I usually combine first but its your preference :) enjoy

      Comment by javanejoon | November 9, 2011 | Reply

  6. I actually love using cornflakes or potatoes to make the tahdig :D

    Comment by Jaz Moj | December 4, 2011 | Reply

    • How do you use the potatoes? :)

      Comment by Samantha | July 8, 2012 | Reply

      • Hi Samantha I hope the spaghetti was a success and Im sorry I didnt see your message earlier. The potatoe is for the tahdig but its optional! :)

        Comment by javanejoon | July 28, 2012

  7. thanks for the recipe ,it help me a lot to be confident in trying to prepare the dish…i did not use the ginger and curry powder (bet scared ill get it wrong:) )i used thinly sliced potatoes tor the taadig it was nice and crispy and layered the pasta and sauce on top of it…my percian friends says its nice ….i hope they are not tarofing ..but for me its this dish is a winner…a million thanks

    Comment by jenl | December 8, 2011 | Reply

  8. thank you for the great description :) i will try it tonight .. for my fiance, he is iranian. but it sounds super delicious.

    Comment by Lissy | May 16, 2012 | Reply

  9. My boyfriend is Persian and is always raving on how much Persian spaghetti is his favorite food. I want to do something really nice for him so I looked up this recipe. I know his mom cuts up long potatoes and puts it in there, do u know how I can do that? It’ll be a lot of help!! Thanks!

    Comment by Samantha | July 8, 2012 | Reply

  10. I’ve made this recipe twice, the first time I was leery about the cinnamon and ginger, but added it any way; I’m happy I did. This has become one of my family’s favorite. Thank you for posting it. Now I need a simple recipe mash pollow. :)

    Comment by EJ | August 15, 2013 | Reply

    • I’m delighted to hear this EJ!!! So pleased to you and your family are enjoying this recipe :)

      Comment by javanejoon | August 30, 2013 | Reply

  11. Thanks javane for lovely recipe.Its so delicious.
    who is this handsome man in the top of the site? you are both so beautiful. of course for me you are the best.Please come with new recipes azizam.
    merci

    Comment by Afsane | December 1, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

